Who Owns The Toronto Maple Leafs?


Who Owns The Toronto Maple Leafs?

So, who owns The Toronto Maple Leafs? The Maple Leaf franchise is currently owned by Bell Canada, Larry Tanenbaum, and Rogers communications. Bell Canada is one of the largest telecommunication companies in Canada. The company provides a wide range of telecommunications services, including fixed-line and mobile telephone services, Internet access, digital television, and IPTV services.

Rogers Communications is a Canadian telecommunications and media company that serves Canada’s largest city, Toronto, and its surrounding area, known as the Greater Toronto Area (GTA). And Larry Tanenbaum is the chairman of Maple Leafs Sports & Entertainment.

According to Forbes, as of the 2022-2023 season, the Toronto Maple Leafs are worth 1.8 Billion dollars. This makes them the second most valuable National Hockey League (NHL) franchise, behind only the New York Rangers.

Where Do The Maple Leafs Play Their Home Games?

The Toronto Maple Leafs play their home games at the Scotiabank Arena (Formerly Air Canada Centre). The arena is located in downtown Toronto, just west of the city’s financial district. It opened in 1999, has a capacity of 19,800 for hockey games, and is also home to the NBA’s Toronto Raptors.

Courtesy of Post2Post YouTube channel

About The Toronto Maple Leafs Franchise

The Toronto Maple Leafs are a professional ice hockey team based in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. They are members of the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference of the National Hockey League (NHL). The Maple Leafs have won thirteen Stanley Cup championships, second only to the 25 championships of the Montreal Canadiens. They are one of the “Original Six” NHL teams, along with the Detroit Red Wings, Boston Bruins, Montreal Canadiens, New York Rangers, and Chicago Blackhawks.

The Maple Leafs’ history includes two recognized dynasties, from 1947 to 1951 led by Gordie Drillon and Frank Mahovlich, and from 1961 to 1967 featuring Dave Keon, Norm Ullman, Jerry Orr, Eddie Shack, and Terry Sawchuk. The Maple Leafs have retired the number of thirteen players who have made significant contributions to the team, including Tim Horton, Turk Broda, and Mats Sundin.

The franchise has developed rivalries with three NHL teams: the Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadiens, and Ottawa Senators. The Maple Leafs also have rivalries within their own division with the Boston Bruins and Tampa Bay Lightning.

Who Was Conn Smythe?

Conn Smythe was the founder and owner of the Toronto Maple Leafs from 1927 to 1961. He was also a prominent figure in hockey in general, serving as the president of the International Hockey League and the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association. Smythe is credited with helping to popularize hockey in North America and is considered one of the most important figures in the sport’s history.

Under Smythe’s leadership, the Maple Leafs won 11 Stanley Cups, more than any other team in NHL history at the time. He was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1945. The Conn Smythe Trophy, awarded to the MVP of the Stanley Cup playoffs, is named in his honor.

1 thought on “Who Owns The Toronto Maple Leafs?”

  1. Pingback: Who Owns The Montreal Canadiens? - Lost In Boston Sports

Comments are closed.