Who Owns The Philadelphia 76ers?


Who Owns The Philadelphia 76ers?

So, who owns The Philadelphia 76ers? The current owners of the 76ers franchise are Josh Harris and David Blitzer, who bought the team in 2011 for $287 million dollars. Before Harris, the team was owned by Comcast-Spectacor, a company that owns and operates several sports and entertainment venues. Comcast-Spectacor had owned the 76ers since 1996.

Harris is the group’s managing partner and has a minority stake in the team. The other members of the ownership group include David Blitzer, Michael Rubin, and Wes Edens. Blitzer is a part-owner of the New Jersey Devils, and Rubin is the CEO of Kynetic LLC, which owns a number of e-commerce companies. Edens is a co-founder of Fortress Investment Group.

According to Forbes, as of the 2022-2023 season, the Philidelphia 76ers are worth $3.15 Billion dollars. This makes them the 10th most valuable National Basketball Association (NBA) franchise.

Where Do The 76ers Play Their Home Games?

The Philadelphia 76ers play their home games at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The arena is located in the South Philadelphia Sports Complex and has a capacity of 19,500.

The Sixers have played their home games at the Wells Fargo Center since 1996. The arena is also home to the NHL’s Philadelphia Flyers and the NBA’s Philadelphia 76ers.

Courtesy of Jay Warvz YouTube channel

About The Philadelphia 76ers Franchise

The Philadelphia 76ers are a professional basketball team based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. They play in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as a member of the league’s Eastern Conference Atlantic Division. The 76ers are one of the oldest franchises in the NBA and one of only eight (out of 23) to survive the league’s first decade.

The Philadelphia 76ers are one of the oldest and most storied franchises in the NBA. The team was founded in 1946 as the Syracuse Nationals, one of the charter members of the Basketball Association of America (BAA). The Nationals were one of the most successful teams in the early years of the BAA, winning the league championship in 1955. The team relocated to Philadelphia in 1963 and became known as the 76ers.

The 76ers have a long-standing rivalry with the Boston Celtics, which is often considered one of basketball’s greatest rivalries. The two teams have met in the playoffs numerous times, with the Celtics winning 14 of the 21 matchups. They also have a rivalry with the Milwaukee Bucks, Los Angeles Lakers, and New York Knicks.

The 76ers have won three championships (1955, 1967, 1983) and made it to the Finals six times. The team has also produced some of the greatest players in the history of the NBA, including Julius Erving, Charles Barkley, Allen Iverson, and Wilt Chamberlain. The current team is led by superstar players such as Joel Embiid and James Harden.