Who Owns The Oklahoma City Thunder?


Who Owns The Oklahoma City Thunder?

So, who owns the Oklahoma City Thunder? The current owner of the Thunder franchise is a group of Clay Bennett, George Kaiser, and the estate of Aubrey McClendon. The team was purchased in 2006 from its previous owner, Seattle Howard Schultz, for $325 million dollars.

Prior to purchasing the Thunder, Bennett was a part-owner of the San Antonio Spurs. He has been credited with helping to keep the Spurs in San Antonio after they nearly moved to another city. Bennett is also a member of the NBA Board of Governors. Under this ownership group, the Thunder have made the playoffs 10 out of their 15 years of existence and reached the NBA Finals in 2012.

According to Forbes, as of the 2022-2023 season, the Oklahoma City Thunder are worth $1.875 Billion dollars. This makes them the 24th most valuable National Basketball Association (NBA) franchise.

Courtesy of Jay Warvz YouTube channel

About The Oklahoma City Thunder Franchise

The Oklahoma City Thunder is an American professional basketball team based in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. The Thunder competes in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as a member of the league’s Western Conference Northwest Division. The team plays its home games at PayCom Center (Formely Chesapeake Energy Arena.)

The Thunder was established in 1967 as the Seattle SuperSonics, an expansion team that joined the NBA for the 1968–69 season. The SuperSonics moved to Oklahoma City in 2008 after a settlement was reached between the group led by Clay Bennett and lawmakers in Seattle, Washington, following a lawsuit.

In Seattle, the SuperSonics qualified for the NBA playoffs 22 times, won their division six times, advanced to three NBA Finals, and won the 1979 NBA Championship. The Thunder qualified for their first playoff berth in Oklahoma City during the 2009–10 season. They also advanced to the NBA Finals in 2012, where they lost to the Miami Heat in five games.

Some great players to wear a Thunder uniform include former MVPs Kevin Duran, James Harden, and Russell Westbrook. Recently superstars such as Chris Paul and Paul George have also played for the team. The Thunders’ primary rivals include the San Antonio Spurs, Houston Rockets, and the Dallas Mavericks.