Who Owns The Los Angeles Clippers?


Who Owns The Los Angeles Clippers?

So, who owns the Los Angeles Clippers? The Clippers franchise is currently owned by Steve Ballmer, who purchased the team in 2014 for $2 billion. Ballmer is the former CEO of Microsoft and is known for his high energy and enthusiastic demeanor, as well as his love of basketball.

Ballmer attended Harvard University, where he studied economics and computer science. After graduation, he worked for Procter & Gamble and then at Goldman Sachs before joining Microsoft in 1980. He quickly rose through the ranks at Microsoft, becoming its CEO in 2000. Ballmer oversaw Microsoft during its most successful years, as it became the world’s largest software company.

According to Forbes, as of the 2022-2023 season, the Los Angeles Clippers are worth $3.9 Billion dollars. This makes them the sixth most valuable National Basketball Association (NBA) franchise.

Donald Sterling Controversy

Prior to Ballmer, the team was owned by Donald Sterling for 33 years. Sterling’s ownership of the team was marred by controversy, as he was repeatedly accused of making racist statements. In 2014, audio recordings of Sterling making racist comments were released, leading to public outcry and calls for him to sell the team.

Ultimately, the NBA fined Sterling $2.5 million and banned him from the league for life. Ballmer then reached an agreement to purchase the team from Sterling.

Courtesy of Sports Plug TV YouTube channel

About The Los Angeles Clippers Franchise

The Los Angeles Clippers are an American professional basketball team based in Los Angeles, California. The Clippers compete in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as a member of the league’s Western Conference Pacific Division. They play their home games at the Cypto.com Arena; a venue shared with fellow NBA team, the Los Angeles Lakers.

In 1970, the Los Angeles Clippers began to play as an NBA expansion team. The franchise was originally known as the Buffalo Braves, and they played their home games in Buffalo, New York. In 1978, the team relocated to San Diego and became known as the San Diego Clippers. Six years later, the franchise moved again to its current home of Los Angeles.

Through much of its history, the franchise failed to see significant regular season or playoff success. The Clippers were frequently seen as an example of a perennial loser in American professional sports, drawing unfavorable comparisons to their geographically neighboring rivals, the Lakers.

The team’s fortunes turned in the early 2010s with the acquisition of core players Blake Griffin, DeAndre Jordan, and Chris Paul. In 2013, the franchise won its first division title, as the team made the playoffs for the ninth time in franchise history and the third time in the previous eight seasons. They repeated as division champions in 2014.

The Clippers have never won an NBA Championship. Their most successful period has come in the last decade, when they made their first trip to the Western Conference Finals in 2021. They are coached by former Cavs head coach Ty Lue and led by superstars Kawhi Leonard and Paul George.