Who Owns The Las Vegas Raiders?


Who Owns The Las Vegas Raiders?

So, who owns the Las Vegas Raiders? The current owner of the Los Vegas Raiders franchise is Mark Davis. He has been the team’s owner since 2011 when he took over for his late father, Al Davis, who purchased the team for $180,000 in 1966. Under Mark’s leadership, the Raiders have made two appearances in the playoffs (2016 and 2017) and are currently in the process of relocating to Las Vegas.

Mark Davis is a lifelong Raiders fan who grew up watching his father’s team play in the Bay Area. He began working as a part-time ticket seller for the Raiders organization in 1983. He eventually rose through the ranks to become the team’s director of marketing and then executive assistant to his father. In 1992, he was named the Raiders’ chief executive officer.

Under Mark’s leadership, the Raiders have made two playoff appearances (2016 and 2017). They are currently in the process of relocating to Las Vegas, where they play their home games at the new Allegiant Stadium.

As of the 2022-2023 season, the Los Vegas Raiders are worth $5.1 billion, according to Forbes. This makes them the 9th most valuable franchise in the National Football League (NFL).

Courtesy of NBC Sports Bay Area & California YouTube channel

About The Las Vegas Raiders Franchise

The Las Vegas Raiders are a professional American football franchise based in the Las Vegas metropolitan area. The Raiders compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the league’s American Football Conference (AFC) West division. The team was established on January 30, 1960, and began play on September 11, 1960, as a charter member of the American Football League (AFL), which merged with the NFL in 1970.

The Raiders played their home games at Oakland–Alameda County Coliseum from 1960 to 1981 and 1995 to 2019. They moved to Allegiant Stadium in Paradise, Nevada, for the 2020 season.

During their almost 60-year history, the Raiders have been one of the most successful and popular professional football teams, winning one AFL championship (1967), four AFC championships (1976, 1980, 1983, 2022), and three Super Bowl championships (XI, XV, XVIII). The team’s taste for violence, both on the field and off it, earned them the nicknames “the Mad Stork” and “the Black Hole.”