Who Owns The Indiana Pacers?


Who Owns The Indiana Pacers?

The NBA’s Indiana Pacers are currently owned by real estate developer Herb Simon. He has been the team’s owner since 1983 when he bought the then-struggling franchise for $10.5 million. Simon owns the WNBA’s Indiana Fever and the NBA G League’s Fort Wayne Mad Ants. He is a native of Gary, Indiana, and resides in Indianapolis.

According to Forbes, as of the 2022-2023 season, the Indiana Pacers are worth $1.8 billion dollars. This makes them the 26th most valuable National Basketball Association (NBA) franchise.

The Gainbridge Fieldhouse

The Gainbridge Fieldhouse is a world-class facility that is the home of the Indiana Pacers. The fieldhouse is located in downtown Indianapolis and features a state-of-the-art basketball court, training facilities, and office space for the Pacers front office staff.

The facility also has a retail store, a restaurant, and a bar. The Fieldhouse was built in 1999 and was originally known as Conseco Fieldhouse. In 2017, the venue was renamed Gainbridge Fieldhouse after a corporate sponsorship agreement.

The Fieldhouse is one of the busiest arenas in the NBA and has hosted numerous events, including the NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Tournament, showcase games, and concerts.

About The Indiana Pacers Franchise

The first years of the Pacers were tumultuous. They began play in 1967 as part of the American Basketball Association (ABA) but immediately ran into financial trouble.

After playing in various arenas around Indianapolis for several years, they eventually settled on Market Square Arena as their home court. Despite their financial difficulties, they remained competitive on the court and won three ABA championships in 1971, 1972, and 1973 with players like Roger Brown and Mel Daniels leading the way.

In 1976, after nine years in the ABA, they joined four other teams merging with the NBA. This move allowed them to remain financially viable while competing against some of the best teams in basketball.

Unfortunately, they struggled to find success during this time and failed to make it out of the first round of playoffs until 1981, when they made it all the way to conference finals before eventually losing to eventual NBA champions Boston Celtics.

Rebuilding Years: 1985-2000

After their playoff run in 1981, things looked bleak for many years for the Pacers. They failed to make it back to playoffs until 1994, when future hall-of-Famer Reggie Miller joined their roster, leading them back into contention again.

Under his leadership, they managed to make it out of first round twice more before finally returning to conference finals again in 1998 before eventually falling short against Michael Jordan’s Chicago Bulls dynasty team.

Present Day (2000s Onward)

In 2003 Larry Bird was hired as GM after being the head coach between 1997-2000. He quickly turned things around for the franchise by getting them to the Eastern Conference Finals in 2005.

Since then, the pacers have become consistent contenders each year, with notable players such as Paul George, Lance Stephenson, and George Hill helping them reach multiple playoff appearances, including two appearances in the Eastern Conference Finals in 2013-2014.

Have The Pacers Ever Won An NBA Finals?

The Pacers have never won an NBA championship, but they have won three ABA championships (1970, 1972, 1973). The Pacers have also made it to the NBA Finals once (2000), but losing to the Shaq & Kobe led Lakers.