Who Owns The Houston Texans?


Who Owns The Houston Texans?

The current owner of the Houston Texans franchise is Janice McNair, the widow of the late Bob McNair. He bought the team in 1999 for $600 million, a record price for an NFL franchise.

Bob McNair was born in 1936 in Tampa, Florida. He attended Vanderbilt University, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in physics. He then went on to earn a master’s degree in business administration from Harvard Business School. After graduation, McNair worked in various businesses, including energy and banking. He eventually became the CEO of Cogen Technologies, an energy company.

McNair was a very hands-on owner and was heavily involved and instrumental in the construction of NRG Stadium, which opened in 2002. Under his ownership, the Texans made the playoffs seven times.

According to Forbes, as of the 2022-2023 season, the Atlanta Falcons are worth $4.7 Billion dollars. This makes them the 11th most valuable National Football League (NFL) franchise.

About The Houston Texans Franchise

The Houston Texans are a professional American football team based in Houston, Texas. The Texans compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the league’s American Football Conference (AFC) South division.

The Texans were established in 2002 as the expansion franchise of the NFL, making them the league’s 32nd franchise and the first since 1976. They have gone to the playoffs six times in franchise history and won their first AFC South title in 2011.

In 2012, the Texans set a franchise record for most consecutive wins in a single season with 12, which helped them secure their second AFC South title. They also advanced to the AFC Divisional Round that year before falling to the eventual Super Bowl champion Baltimore Ravens.

The Texans have had several players who have been elected to the Pro Bowl throughout their history, including Andre Johnson, Arian Foster, DeAndre Hopkins, J.J. Watt, and Deshaun Watson. The team has also produced two AP NFL Defensive Players of the Year: Mario Williams in 2007 and J.J. Watt in 2012 and 2015.