Who Owns The Detroit Lions?


Who Owns The Detroit Lions?

The current owner of the Detroit Lions franchise is Martha Firestone Ford. She is also the chairwoman of the board for the team. Mrs. Ford took over the team in 2014 from her husband, William Clay Ford Sr., who passed away that same year.

William Clay Ford Sr. owned the Detroit Lions from 1963 until his death in 2014. He purchased the team for $4.5 million, and the franchise is now worth an estimated $3.05 billion, according to Forbes. Under his ownership, the Lions made the playoffs just once, in 1992.

Martha Firestone Ford is a businesswoman and philanthropist who has been married to William Clay Ford Sr., heir to the Ford Motor Company fortune, since 1947. The couple has four children together: William Clay Jr., Sheila Hamp, Elizabeth Kontulis, and Martha Ford Morse. Mrs. Ford is the current owner and chairwoman of the board for the Detroit Lions.

Where Do The Lions Play Their Home Games?

The Detroit Lions play their home games at Ford Field in Detroit, Michigan. The stadium opened in 2002 and has a capacity of 65,000. The Lions have played there since the stadium opened.

Ford Field is located in downtown Detroit, near Comerica Park (home of the Detroit Tigers) and Little Caesars Arena (home of the Detroit Red Wings). The stadium is accessible via several freeways and a Detroit People Mover station adjacent to Ford Field.

Courtesy of Candid Sports YouTube channel

About The Detroit Lions Franchise

The Detroit Lions are a professional American football team based in Detroit, Michigan. They compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the league’s National Football Conference (NFC) North division.

The Lions franchise was originally established as the Portsmouth Spartans in 1929 and joined the NFL in 1930 as part of the league’s expansion into the Midwest. Despite success within the NFL, they could not survive financially in Portsmouth and relocated to Detroit for the 1934 season. The Lions have won four NFL Championships but have yet to play in a Super Bowl. They are one of four current teams and the only NFC team to have not yet played in the Super Bowl.

The Detroit Lion’s most recent major success came in 1991 when they finished the regular season with a 10–4 record and won the franchise’s first-ever playoff game en route to their first NFC Championship appearance since 1957. However, they lost the NFC Championship Game to the eventual Super Bowl champion Washington Redskins by a score of 41–10. The Lions also clinched a playoff berth in 2014 and 2016.

22 former members of the Detroit Lions have been enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame: including Dutch Clark, Dick Lane, Alex Wojciechowicz, Leo Nomellini, Yale Lary, Bobby Layne, Doak Walker, Barry Sanders, and Calvin Johnson.