Who Owns The Chicago Bulls?


Who Owns The Chicago Bulls?

Jerry Reinsdorf owns the Chicago Bulls and has been the team’s owner since 1985. Reinsdorf is also the Chairman of the Board for the Bulls. He is a very successful businessman and sports entrepreneur. In addition to owning the Bulls, Reinsdorf also has a stake in the Chicago White Sox. Under his ownership, the Bulls have won six NBA Championships.

Reinsdorf was born in Brooklyn, New York, on February 25, 1936. His father was a Ukrainian immigrant who worked as a taxi driver. Reinsdorf grew up in Queens, New York, attending Forest Hills High School. After graduating from high school, he enrolled at George Washington University, where he studied law.

After graduating from law school, Reinsdorf began his career as an attorney for the Internal Revenue Service. He later went into private practice and eventually became a successful sports agent. In 1985, he became the owner of the Chicago Bulls when he purchased the team from the Wirtz family for $16 million.

Under Reinsdorf’s ownership, the Bulls won six NBA Championships (1991-1993, 1996-1998). The team also enjoyed a period of sustained success in the 1990s, winning more regular season games than any other team in that decade.

According to Forbes, as of the 2022-2023 season, the Chicago Bulls are worth $4.1 Billion dollars. This makes them the fourth most valuable National Basketball Association (NBA) franchise.

Courtesy of NAK YouTube channel

About The Chicago Bulls Franchise

The Chicago Bulls are an American professional basketball team based in Chicago, Illinois. The Bulls compete in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as a member of the league’s Eastern Conference Central Division. The team was founded on January 16, 1966, and played its first game during the 1966–67 NBA season. The Bulls play their home games at the United Center, an arena on Chicago’s West Side.

The Bulls saw their greatest success during the 1990s when they were responsible for popularizing the NBA worldwide. During this decade, they won six NBA Championships (1991-1993, 1996-1998), setting an NBA record that still stands today for winning three titles twice (1991-1993 and 1996-1998).

The Bulls were the first team in NBA history to win 70 games or more in a single season (1995-1996), and they did it twice (1995-1996 and 1996-1997). They are also the only team in NBA history to ever win back-to-back titles three times. Led by Hall of Famers Michael Jordan, Scottie Pippen, and Dennis Rodman, the Bulls became one of the world’s most recognizable sports teams during this period.

The Bulls have also been home to some of the greatest players in the history of the NBA, including Michael Jordan, Scottie Pippen, Dennis Rodman, Horace Grant, Jerry Sloan, Jimmy Butler, and Derrick Rose. Phil Jackson, the head coach during the dynasty years, is also widely regarded as one of the best in the history of the NBA.