Who Owns The Buffalo Bills?

Buffalo Bills

Who Owns The Buffalo Bills?

So, who owns the Buffalo Bills? The current owner of the Bills franchise is Terry Pegula, who purchased the team in 2014 for $1.4 billion. Prior to Pegula, the Bills were owned by Ralph Wilson Jr., who owned the team for over 50 years. Wilson passed away in 2014, which is when Pegula took over ownership.

Pegula is a businessman and sports entrepreneur from Pennsylvania. He made his fortune in the natural gas industry. In 2010, he founded Black River Entertainment, a country music record label. He also owns the NHL’s Buffalo Sabres and their home arena, KeyBank Center.

Under Pegula’s ownership, the franchise has made the playoffs four times (2017, 2019, 2021, and 2022). They also won their first division title in 25 years in 2020. The Bills are currently valued at $3.4 billion, which is the 29th-highest valuation in the NFL.

The Pegula family has also been active in giving back to the Buffalo community. He and his wife have donated over $100 million to various causes, including education and health care. In 2017, they founded the Pegula Family Charitable Foundation, which supports many charities and causes in Western New York.

Where Do The Bills Play Their Home Games?

The team plays its home games at New Era Field in Orchard Park, New York. The Bills are the only NFL team that plays its home games in the state of New York, as both the Jets & Giants play in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

About The Buffalo Bills Franchise

The Buffalo Bills are a professional American football team based in the Buffalo–Niagara Falls metropolitan area. The Bills compete in the National Football League (NFL), a member club of the league’s American Football Conference (AFC) East division. The Bills conduct summer training camp at St. John Fisher College in Pittsford, New York, an eastern suburb of Rochester.

The franchise was founded in 1960 as a charter member of the American Football League (AFL). The team began to play their home games at War Memorial Stadium in 1961. The Bills joined the NFL as part of the AFL–NFL merger in 1970. The franchise reached the Super Bowl for the first time in 1991. They returned to the Super Bowl three more times within a 10-year period, losing each time.

The Bills have yet to return to the Super Bowl since winning their second title in 1993, making them the only team to appear in four consecutive Super Bowls without winning a single one. As of 2022, the Bills look poised to make a Super Bowl run with superstar quarterback Josh Allen leading the way.