Who Owns The Atlanta Braves?


Who Owns The Atlanta Braves?

Liberty Media Corporation leads the current ownership group of the Atlanta Braves franchise. They are an American mass media company that owns interests in a variety of companies involved with satellite radio, television, and cable TV systems. In 2007, Liberty Media Corporation took control of the Atlanta Braves franchise through a series of transactions.

The Atlanta Braves are valued at $2.1 billion, making them the 14th most valuable franchise in Major League Baseball. The team generates about $443 million dollars of revenue per year.

About The Atlanta Braves Franchise

The Atlanta Braves are a professional baseball team based in Atlanta, Georgia. The Braves are members of the National League East division in Major League Baseball (MLB).

The team played its home games at Turner Field from 1997 to 2016; since 2017, their home stadium has been SunTrust Park, located in the Cumberland neighborhood of Cobb County, Georgia.

The Early Years

The Atlanta Braves were founded in 1871 as the Boston Red Stockings, making them one of the oldest professional sports teams in North America. The team was originally based out of Boston and played under various names before settling on the name “Braves” in 1912. During this period, they captured five National League pennants and two World Series crowns (1914 and 1957).

The Move to Atlanta

In 1966, owner Lou Perini moved the team from Boston to Atlanta, where they were known as the “Atlanta Braves” until 1990. With Hank Aaron leading their offense, the Braves won two consecutive National League championships from 1991 to 1992.

They returned to the World Series in 1995, winning their first title in Atlanta against the Cleveland Indians. The Franchise would have to wait another 26 years to win their next World Series when they defeated the Houston Astros in six games in 2021.

Great Players In Franchise History

The Atlanta Braves have a proud history of producing great players. From Hall of Fame slugger Hank Aaron, who painted the Braves skyline green with 755 career home runs, to Greg Maddux, who won three consecutive Cy Young awards as a Brave. In between, icons like Dale Murphy, Phil Niekro, and Tom Glavine have all signed their names in the annals of Braves history.

Another cornerstone of the team’s best seasons is Chipper Jones, the switch-hitting third baseman whose resume reads like few others: a lifetime Braves hitter with 2,726 hits and 468 home runs – both club records for over two decades – plus one World Series title during his 19-year long career with the organization.