What Is The Cy Young Award?

cy young

What Is The Cy Young Award?

Each year, the Cy Young Award is given to the best pitcher in Major League Baseball (MLB). The award was first given out in 1956 and is named after Hall of Fame pitcher Cy Young.

The Award is considered one of the most prestigious honors in baseball. Some well-known pitchers who have won the award multiple times include Roger Clemens, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, and Greg Maddux.

Who Was Cy Young?

Cy Young was a Major League Baseball pitcher who played for five teams during his 21-year career. He is best known for his time with the Boston Red Sox, for whom he pitched from 1901-1908.

Young holds the record for most career wins (511) and is considered one of the greatest pitchers in baseball history. He was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1937. He died in 1955 at the age of 88.

Who Has Won The Most Cy Young Awards?

Pitcher Roger Clemens won seven Cy Young Awards throughout his career, more than any other player in MLB history. Clemens was a dominant force on the mound, and his awards are a testament to his greatness.

He was a two-time World Series champion and ranks ninth on the all-time strikeouts list.

What’s The Criteria For Winning The Award?

A pitcher must demonstrate exceptional ability and skills to win a Cy Young Award. They must also be able to maintain a high level of performance over the course of a season. Several different criteria can be used to determine who the winner of the Cy Young Award is.

Still, the most important factors are usually a pitcher’s wins, losses, ERA, and strikeouts. Additionally, pitchers named to an All-Star team or who won other prestigious awards are often given extra consideration.

Ultimately, it is up to the voters to decide who they believe is most deserving of the Cy Young Award. You can check the full list of winners and results by clicking here.

When Is The Cy Young Award Announced?

The Cy Young Award is typically announced in early November, after the end of the Major League Baseball season. The award is given to the pitcher who has had the most successful season, as determined by the baseball writers’ vote (BBWA). You can catch the winner on MLB Network, as they will have full coverage of the award.