What Is Intentional Grounding In Football?
Intentional grounding is a penalty in football when a quarterback deliberately throws an incomplete pass to avoid being sacked. This usually happens when the quarterback is under pressure and decides to throw the ball away instead of taking a sack. The penalty can also be called if the quarterback throws the ball out of bounds or into the stands.
Why Would a QB Attempt Intentional Founding?
Avoid a Sack: If the quarterback believes he is about to be sacked, he may throw the ball away to avoid losing yardage.
Stop The Clock: If the quarterback is trying to preserve a lead late in the game, he may intentionally ground the ball to stop the clock and prevent the opposing team from having an opportunity to score.
Trying To Avoid a Turnover: If the quarterback believes he is about to throw an interception, he may intentionally ground the ball instead to protect his team’s possession.
Penalty For Intentional Grounding
The penalty for intentional grounding is a loss of down and 10 yards from the spot of the foul or half the distance to the goal line if it occurs in the end zone. If the referee believes that the quarterback intentionally threw the ball away to stop the clock, he can call a delay of game penalty, adding another 5 yards to the penalty.
When Is Intentional Grounding Not Called?
1. Intentional grounding will not be called if the quarterback is outside the tackle box when he throws the ball away.
2. Will not be called if the quarterback tries to connect with a receiver nearby.
3. A penalty will not be called if the quarterback spikes the ball to stop the clock.
These exceptions allow quarterbacks to avoid taking a sack, which can often harm their team’s chances of winning.
How a Quarterback Can Avoid Intentional Grounding
In some situations, intentional grounding may be the only option for a quarterback. If he is about to be sacked and there is no receiver open, throwing the ball away may be the only way to avoid a loss of yards. However, it can also be called if the quarterback throws the ball away when there are receivers open. In this case, it is up to the referee to determine whether or not the quarterback had a realistic chance of completing a pass.
To avoid the penalty, quarterbacks must be aware of their surroundings by knowing where their receivers are and whether or not they are open. They also need to make sure they throw the ball into an area with a receiver. If a quarterback is unsure whether or not he will be able to avoid a penalty, it is best to take the sack.
Conclusion: Intentional Grounding In Football
After delving into the rule of intentional grounding in football, it is clear that it is important to keep the game fair and safe. It can be a problem if it is not called correctly, as it can lead to injuries or even alter the outcome of a game. However, as long as the player is aware of the rule and the refs enforce it properly, intentional grounding should not be a major issue in football.