What Is a Mulligan In The Game Of Golf?

labor day, golf, grass-2722962.jpg

What Is a Mulligan In Golf?

A mulligan is basically a “do-over” in the game of golf. You can take a mulligan and redo the shot without penalty if you hit a bad shot. This is typically only done on the first tee and is mostly just for fun. Some people may keep track of their mulligans for the whole round, but usually, it’s just a one-time thing.

Origins Of a Mulligan

The term itself is thought to have originated in the early 1900s, and it’s believed to be named after an Irish professional golfer named David Mulligan. Mulligan was known for letting his playing partners take another shot if they didn’t like their first one, and it’s believed that the term “mulligan” comes from his last name.

What Is The Purpose Of A Mulligan?

There are no hard and fast rules about mulligans, but generally speaking, they should only be used in casual games. It can be used to relieve dissatisfaction with the result of a shot or to correct an illegal stroke. For example, if a player’s ball goes out of bounds, they may take a mulligan to replay the shot from within the bounds.

In competitive play, it is up to the tournament organizers to decide whether or not mulligans will be allowed. Some players feel that taking mulligans gives an unfair advantage, while others view them as a way to reduce the frustration of playing a challenging game. Ultimately, it is up to each player to decide whether or not to use mulligans.

Are Mulligans Used In Professional Golf?

Many amateur golfers use mulligans when playing with friends, but it is generally not allowed in professional tournaments. The reason for this is that it would give players an unfair advantage, as they would be able to correct their mistakes without penalty. 

It would also be difficult to maintain an accurate leaderboard if some players take mulligans while others do not. As a result, professional golfers must learn to live with their mistakes and play through them.

When Should You Take a Mulligan?

Whether to take a mulligan is entirely up to the player, but there are a few general guidelines to keep in mind. If the shot was not executed well, such as a wild tee shot or a slice into the rough, it’s usually worth taking a mulligan.

However, if the shot was well-executed but didn’t have the desired result, such as hitting the green but not close enough to the hole, then it’s probably best to move on and take your chances with the next shot.