Must Watch: Mariachi Band Opens New Week For Red Sox!


Mariachi Band Opens New Week For Red Sox!

Baseball season is in full swing, and spring training is well underway. On Monday morning, the Boston Red Sox got a special treat during their warmups thanks to two of their players—Alex Verdugo and Jarren Duran. 

The pair of outfielders will be representing Mexico in the upcoming World Baseball Classic, and they gave their teammates a “presentation” about their Mexican culture. As part of that presentation, a mariachi band took over the clubhouse and provided some lively music for the team’s warmups. 

Red Sox Participating In World Baseball Classic

Mexico: Alex Verdugo, Jarren Duran

Dominican Republic: Rafael Devers

Canada: Nick Pivetta

Japan: Masataka Yoshida

Dominican Republic: Rafael Devers

Israel: Richard Bleier

Colombia: Jorge Alfaro, Rio Gomez

Netherlands: Kenley Jansen

Puerto Rico: Kiké Hernández, Edwin Diaz (No, not that Edwin Diaz)

Venezuela: Norwith Gudino

What Is The World Baseball Classic?

The WBC is an international tournament where teams from around the world compete in a round-robin format to determine the best baseball-playing country in the world. The first World Baseball Classic was held in 2006 as part of Major League Baseball’s (MLB) attempt to reach out internationally and grow the game globally.

It was an immediate hit with fans and players, as it has allowed the top pros from around the world to compete against each other on an even playing field. 

What Makes The World Baseball Classic Special? 

The WBC is unique because it allows countries from all over the world to come together and compete on an international level. It also enables MLB players to represent their country and show off their skills on a global stage—something that doesn’t often happen in professional baseball leagues like MLB or Nippon Professional Baseball (NPB). 

When Does The WBC Begin?

The 2023 World Baseball Classic is right around the corner, kicking off on Tuesday, March 7th, and running through to March 21st. With 20 teams from across the globe will converge in four countries: Taiwan, Japan, Miami, and Arizona. You can follow all the action on FOX Sports in the United States.