How Many NFL Teams Are There?

american, football, sport-3561470.jpg

How Many NFL Teams Are There?

There are a total of 32 NFL teams. These teams are divided evenly between the National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference (AFC). Each conference has 16 teams.

The NFC Teams:

  • Arizona Cardinals
  • Atlanta Falcons
  • Carolina Panthers
  • Chicago Bears
  • Dallas Cowboys
  • Detroit Lions
  • Green Bay Packers
  • Los Angeles Rams
  • Minnesota Vikings
  • New Orleans Saints
  • New York Giants
  • Philadelphia Eagles
  • San Francisco 49ers
  • Seattle Seahawks
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers

The AFC Teams:

  • Baltimore Ravens
  • Buffalo Bills
  • Cleveland Browns
  • Denver Broncos
  • Houston Texans
  • Indianapolis Colts
  • Jacksonville Jaguars
  • Kansas City Chiefs
  • Los Angeles Chargers,
  • Miami Dolphins,
  • New England Patriots
  • New York Jets,
  • Oakland Raiders,
  • Pittsburgh Steelers
  • Tennessee Titans

NFL Divisions

NFC East: Dallas Cowboys, New York Giants, Philadelphia Eagles, and Washington Redskins.

NFC South: Atlanta Falcons, Carolina Panthers, New Orleans Saints, and Tampa Bay Buccaneers

NFC North: Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions, Green Bay Packers, and Minnesota Vikings

NFC West: Arizona Cardinals, Los Angeles Rams, San Francisco 49ers, and Seattle Seahawks

AFC East: Buffalo Bills, Miami Dolphins, New England Patriots, and New York Jets

AFC South: Houston Texans, Indianapolis Colts, Jacksonville Jaguars, and Tennessee Titans

AFC North: Baltimore Ravens, Cincinnati Bengals, Cleveland Browns, and Pittsburgh Steelers

AFC West: Denver Broncos, Kansas City Chiefs, Los Angeles Chargers, and Oakland Raiders

Quick History Of The NFL

The National Football League (NFL) is the premier professional American football league in the United States and one of North America’s four major professional sports leagues. It was founded in 1920 as the American Professional Football Association (APFA), with ten teams from four states, all of whom existed in some form as pre-existing organizations.

In 1922, the APFA was renamed the National Football League. The first official championship game was held in 1933, and the NFL had held annual championship games since, except for 1942, when it was canceled due to World War II.

Regular Season & Super Bowl

The NFL regular season typically runs from September to December, with each team playing 16 games. After the conclusion of the regular season, six teams from each conference (four division winners and two wild card teams) advance to the playoffs, a single-elimination tournament culminating in the Super Bowl, which is usually held in early February and is considered to be the biggest annual sporting event in the world.

As of 2022, the Los Angeles Rams are the most recent Super Bowl champions.

Most Popular Sports League In The United States

The NFL has the highest average per-game attendance of any professional sports league in the world and is also the most popular sports league in the United States. It is also broadcast on television more than any other sport. The league’s headquarters are in New York City.